Follow us on
  1. தமிழ்
  2. తెలుగు
  3. Hindi
  4. Tamil
  5. Telugu
  6. Malayalam
  7. Kannada

All about 14th Mumbai Film Festival (MFF)

IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, October 16, 2012]

Here we bring to you all that will happen at the latest edition of the city's most eagerly awaited cultural event, the 14th Mumbai Film Festival, presented by Reliance Entertainment and American Express and organized by the Mumbai Academy of Moving Image.

Kick starting from October 18th to 25th at the National Centre for the Performing Arts (NCPA) and Inox, Nariman Point, Liberty Cinemas, Marine Lines as the main festival venues and Cinemax, Andheri and Cinemax Sion as the satellite venues, the festival will screen 200 films from 65 countries and pay homage to Rajesh Khanna, Dara Singh and A. K. Hangal.

The festival will open with critically acclaimed comedy-drama 'Silver Linings Playbook'. Adapted from Matthew Quick's novel of the same name, this David O Russell film boasts of a multi-star cast that includes Bradley Cooper, Jennifer Lawrence, Robert De Niro, Jacki Weaver, Anupam Kher, Julia Stiles and Chris Tucker. With its world premiere at the 2012 Toronto International Film Festival the film won the People's Choice Award for the Best Narrative Feature.

The film's screening at the 14th Mumbai Film Festival will mark its Asia premiere with Anupam Kher's presenting the movie at the opening function. Commenting on this, Festival Director, Srinivasan Narayanan says, "At the Mumbai Film Festival, we have always striven to get the best movie for our patrons.

This year's Opening Film David O. Russell's 'Silver Linings Playbook' validates our constant drive. It is an honor that Mr. Anupam Kher will be presenting the film at the opening." Actor Anupam Kher who plays a pivotal role in this film says, "On behalf of Weinstein Co. my Producers, Director David Russell, Robert De Niro, Bradley Cooper, Jeniffer Lawrence, Chris Tucker and other cast and crew I feel honoured to present Silver Linings Playbook, as the opening film of prestigious 14th Mumbai Film Festival. As an actor it is a dream come true to be part of this brilliant and heart warming film.

A great moment of joy and pride for me." The festival promises to feature a lineup of over 200 movies with special event segments dedicated to French, Italian, Afghan and Indian cinema as well as silent films accompanied by a live orchestra. Two Indian films Anand Gandhi's "Ship of Theseus" and Musa Syeed's "Valley of Saints" have been selected in the international competition of the festival. Thirteen debut feature films from all over the world will compete for the USD 200,000 cash awards of 14th Mumbai Film Festival.

Gandhi's "Ship of Theseus" recently had its world premiere at Toronto International Film Festival in the City to City program dedicated to Mumbai. The film has also been selected for the BFI London Film Festival and Tokyo Film Festival.

Musa Syeed's "Valley of Saints" won the world cinema audience award at the Sundance film festival in January this year. Earlier it had won Alfred P. Sloan Feature Film Production Award for his screenplay from the Sundance Institute. The film has travelled to various film festivals such as Seattle, San Francisco and Durban to name a few.

Gandhi and Syeed will compete with "Beasts of the Southern Wild" - that won four awards at the Cannes film festival this year including Camera d'Or for Best first feature film and FIPRESCI prize in the Un Certain Regard section - and "Aquiy alla" (Here and There), that won the grand prize of the Cannes Critics Week. American director Andy Tennant (Fools Rush In, Ever After , Anna and the King, Sweet Home Alabama, Hitch, Fool's Gold and The Bounty Hunter) heads the international jury.

Other members of the jury include Indian actor Rahul Bose, Korean Director Im Sang-soo, Editor Pascale Chavance and Brazilian Director Sergio Machado. Veteran Indian actor Waheeda Rehman will be honoured with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 14th Mumbai Film Festival.

Waheeda Rehman is known for her collaborations with Guru Dutt in films like Pyasa (1957), Kaagaz Ke Phool (1959) and Sahib Biwi Aur Ghulam. Her other prominent films include C.I.D. (1956), Solva Saal (1958), Baat Ek Raat Ki (1962), Kohra (1964), Guide (1965), Teesri Kasam, Mujhe Jeene Do (1966), Neel Kamal and Khamoshi (1969). Producer of "Star Wars" Gary Kurtz will preside over the 'India Gold 2012' jury.

This jury will select the winners of two cash prizes of INR 1 million and INR 500,000. Other members of India Gold Jury are Geoffrey Gilmore, Chief Creative officer at Tribeca Enterprises of the Tribeca Film Festival, Christian Jeune, Head, Film Department at Cannes Film Festival, Declan Quinn, cinematographer of films such as 'The Reluctant Fundamentalist', 'New York, I Love You', 'Vanity Fair' and 'Being Flynn', Julia Leigh acclaimed author and director of 'Sleeping Beauty'.

Celebrate Age Jury The 'Celebrate Age' competition section jury will be presided by author and columnist Shobhaa De. Other members of the jury include Bhavna Talwar, director, Sachin Kundalkar, Producer and director, Petrina D'Rozario, Founder-President, WIFT Mumbai chapter, Ranvir Shorey, actor.

Dimensions Mumbai Jury Marathi Director Umesh Kulkarni is the president of the 'Dimension Mumbai' jury other members include Sanjay Suri, actor and producer, Gitanjali Rao, director, Reema Kagti, director and screenwriter.

Matru Ki Bijlee Ka Mandola First Look

Copyright 2014 IndiaGlitz. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Hindi | Tamil | Telugu | Malayalam | Kannada
Home | Tell a friend | Contact Us | Advertise | Terms | Privacy Policy | RSS/Content Syndication | Submit Showtimes

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved.