Follow us on
  1. Hindi
  2. Tamil
  3. Telugu
  4. Malayalam
  5. Kannada

Film Critics' Award for Mammootty, Padmapriya

IndiaGlitz [Tuesday, January 30, 2007]

The Atlas - Film Critics' Award for the best feature film in Malayalam for the year 2006, has been won by Karutha Pakshikal, directed by Kamal, who has also been selected as the best film director of the year. The film bagged seven awards in different sections.

Malayalam superstar Mammootty was named best actor at the Atlas Film Critics Awards here for his poignant performances in Kaiyoppu and Karutha Pakshigal. And Padmapriya was named, the best actress, for her roles in Yes Your Honour and Karutha Pakshikal.

Karutha Pakshigal, in which Mammootty plays a Tamil migrant worker eking out a living by ironing clothes, went on to bag six more awards.  .

Announcing these awards at a press conference here on Monday, Thekkinkadu Joseph and Mannarakayam Baby, the President and General Secretary respectively of the Kerala Film Critics' Association and M.M.Ramachandran, the Atlas Group Chairman, informed that the award for the second best film would be shared by Rathrimazha directed by Lenin Rajendran, Kaiyoppu directed by Renjith and Anandabhairavi directed by Jayaraj.

Jagathy Sreekumar will receive the award for second best actor and Mohini will receive the second best actress award. The award for the best story and best screenplay goes to James Albert for Classmates. And the award for the best newcomer has gone to Roma, while actor Indrajith will receive a special jury award.

Rajeev Alungal is the best lyricist and Alex Paul, the best music director. M.G.Sreekumar has been selected to receive the best male singer award and Manjari is the best female singer. The award for the most popular film of the year goes to Classmates.

The other awards are Cinematography: P.Sukumar, Film editing: Don Max, Sound recording: Rajakrishnan, Art direction: Suresh Kollam, Make-up: P.Mony, Costumes: Kumar Edappal, Choreography: Madhu Gopinath, Sajeev Vakkom and Dubbing: Sukanya Shaji.

Avira Rebecka (Thakarachenda) and M.A.Nishad (Pakal) will receive special commendation for their maiden directorial ventures. M.F.Thomas will receive an award for his contribution to film journalism.

Dileepís next will be with Thomson

Mammootty Wallpapers:

800*600 | 1024*768

800*600 | 1024*768

800*600 | 1024*768

Padmapriya Wallpapers:

800*600 | 1024*768

800*600 | 1024*768

800*600 | 1024*768

Related News

 'Munnariyippu' will have a different Mammootty
 Mohanlal leaves Amritha Hospital following ten day treatment
 'Immanuel' gets Jesy Award
 Mammootty turns Rascal
 'Mammootty' dragged into the green controversy
 First trailer of 'Rajadhiraja' out
 Jayaram as Mammootty in 'Mailanchi Monchulla Veedu'
 ' Priyadarshan-Mohanlal-Mammootty' combo movie still in discussion stage
 'Mammootty's' Addiction to Life proves to be a massive hit...
 'Rajadhiraja's' trailer to be released soon.

Other News

 Nazriya's friend in her footsteps
 Why Rajnikant Outshines The Khans And Bachchans Of Bollywood? - Part III
 Dileep gets injured
 'Bhaiya Bhaiya' for this Onam
 Lekshmny Menon hates marriage
 Dulqar with Maniratnam?
 A surprise marriage gift for Nazriya
 A mega Mohanlal-Mammootty movie in the offing...
 Sreesanth sports a six pack...
 'Loka Samastha' ready

Copyright 2014 IndiaGlitz. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Hindi | Tamil | Telugu | Malayalam | Kannada
Home | Tell a friend | Contact Us | Advertise | Terms | Privacy Policy | RSS/Content Syndication | Submit Showtimes

Copyright © 2014 All rights reserved.