Choose your channels

17 rebel MLAs can contest in bypolls: SC

Wednesday, November 13, 2019 • Tamil Comments

17 rebel MLAs can contest in bypolls: SC

The Supreme Court today ruled that the 17 disqualified rebel MLAs of the Karnataka Assembly can contest in bypolls.  This has been welcomed by the MLAs, most of whom belong to the Congress party.  

A few months ago, the 17 MLAs ditched their parties and supported the BJP, bringing the Congress-JDS government down.  

The Speaker of the Assembly accepted their resignations.  He held that they disqualified MLAs can't contest bypolls till 2023.  

Jolted by the Speaker's decision under the anti-defected law, the MLAs moved the Supreme Court, which today upheld the Speaker's decision but, much to the MLAs' relief, said that they can definitely contest bypolls.  

"I welcome the judgement of the Supreme Court. We should be happy because the apex court has awarded a judgement," one of the MLAs said.

The bypolls will be held on December 5.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz