Choose your channels

9 former Chief Ministers defeated in this election

Friday, May 24, 2019 • Tamil Comments

The results of the Lok Sabha elections have come as a gigantic shock for many.  From political heavyweights like Deve Gowda, Jyotiraditya Scindia and Nara Lokesh to former Chief Ministers, many have come to bite the dust.  

Call it by whatever name you want, nine former CMs have lost in different States.  Incidentally or otherwise, they all belong to the same party - Congress.  Here we give you the list of the former CMs who have been defeated.

Former Delhi CM Sheila Dixit loses.  She was once seen as the most popular Congress CM after YSR.  

Former Madhya Pradesh CM Digvijay Singh loses.  His BJP rival, Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, wins by a huge margin from Bhopal.  

Former Maha CM Ashok Chavan loses by a margin of about 40,000 votes.  

Former Maha CM and Union Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde loses.

Former Karnataka CM and Union Minister Veerappa Moily trounced.

Former Haryana CM Bhupendra Singh Hooda defeated.  

Former Uttarakhand CM Harish Rawat goes. 

Besides, former Arunachal Pradesh CM Nabam Tuki and former Meghalaya CM Mukul Sangma bite the dust.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz