Choose your channels

AB de Villiers chooses between Virat Kohli, MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma as his all-time IPL captain

Saturday, April 3, 2021 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Former South African captain and one of Royal Challengers Bangalore's most reliable players, AB de Villiers, picked his all-time Indian Premier League (IPL) XI ahead of IPL 2021, choosing seven Indian players and four overseas cricketers.

RCB captain Virat Kohli, CSK captain MS Dhoni, and Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma were all named in de Villiers' list but the South African player picked MS Dhoni as captain for his all-time Indian Premier League XI. AB de Villiers also picked Ravindra Jadeja as the all-rounder in his team while his choices of bowlers were Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Jasprit Bumrah. Also choosing veteran Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag to open alongside Rohit Sharma, de Villiers picked 6 overseas players (including replacements) as well.

The former South African captain was quoted as saying, "Last night I was thinking that if I pick my IPL XI and I include myself, how bad would that look. So, opening the batting, I would pick someone whom I started with at Delhi, Viru (Virender Sehwag) at 1 and someone who I think has played some of the best cricket in the world in the last five years, Rohit at No. 2. Then obviously Virat at No. 3, followed by I'd say either Williamson, or Smith, or myself these are the two replacements. Ben Stokes at 5, MS at six as captain, and at No. 7, I'd put Jaddu, Mr. Jadeja."

"Rashid Khan at 8, Bhuvi at 9, Kagiso Rabada at 10 and Bumrah at 11. I'd put Stokes because obviously we know what he can do with the bat, but also considering that extra seaming option. Got the two spinners and then Bumrah, Rabada and Bhuvi as fast bowlers. So that pretty much covers everything," de Villiers added.

AB de Villiers' all-time XI: Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kane Williamson/Steve Smith/AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, MS Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah


Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!