Choose your channels

Abhijit Banerjee, two others win Nobel Prize for Economics

Monday, October 14, 2019 • Tamil Comments

The 2019 Nobel Prize for Economics has gone to India-born Abhijit Banerjee, Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer for their "experimental approach to alleviating global poverty”. The news has come as a matter of celebration for Indians.

Congratulating the economist, the Congress party said that Banerjee's "incredible work in poverty alleviation has made our country proud. The renowned economist was a key consultant for the path-breaking NYAY programme presented by the Congress Party."

Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal said, "Abhijit Banerjee's pathbreaking work has also benefitted lakhs of children studying in Delhi govt schools. One of Delhi govt's most imp education reform 'Chunauti' has transformed govt school classroom teaching. It is based on the model developed by him."

Historian and columnist Ramachandra Guha said, "Delighted to hear that Abhijit Banerjee and Esther Duflo have won the Nobel Prize for Economics. Richly deserved. Abhijit is a proud graduate of that much-maligned university, JNU, and his work has inspired many younger Indian scholars."

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz