Choose your channels

AIADMK Reveals Initial 16 Candidates List for 2024 Lok Sabha Elections: Key names unveiled!

Friday, March 22, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

On Wednesday, the AIADMK announced its first list of 16 candidates to contest the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections. Edappadi K. Palaniswami, AIADMK General Secretary, declared that in an alliance, the DMDMK would contest in 5 seats, SDPI in 1, and Puthiya Tamilagam in 1 from the Tenkasi constituency.

On September 25, 2023, the AIADMK leader severed ties with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) due to the BJP's perceived offensive remarks towards the AIADMK's former leaders.

AIADMK Candidate List as follows:

Chennai South – Jayavardhan

North Chennai – Royapuram Manoharan

Krishnagiri – Jayaprakash

Erode – Atral Ashok Kumar

Chidambaram – Chandrahaasan

Madurai – Saravanan

Theni – VD Narayanasamy

Nagapattinam – Surjith Sankar

Namakkal – Tamil Mani

Salem – Vignesh

Villupuram – Bakkiyaraj

On the other side, DMK leaders announced their first list of candidates along with a manifesto for the forthcoming Lok Sabha elections. The list includes Tamil Nadu Chief Minister MK Stalin, former Union Minister Dayanidhi Maran from Chennai Central, A Raja from Nilgiris, and Kanimozhi from Thoothukudi.

Stalin also has his own calculations. Believed to be sure of the Hindu consolidation advantage that the stand could bring for his DMK, he has, however, been cautious in largely avoiding such leanings at the violence-ridden Vellore.

For the first time since independence, the electorate of this constituency in the Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Mk Stalin and his party DMK, challenging the traditionalist AIADMK, comes under a broader consensus for the need for a change. Tripura: DMK is contesting from 21 seats; ally Congress, CPI(M), CPI, VCK, MDMK, IUML, and KMDK will give their support. Tamil Nadu will go into polls on April 19 to elect its MPs to the 2024 Lok Sabha polls. Counting will be done by the Election Commission of India on June 4, accordingly.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!