Choose your channels

AP Governor approves the 'three capitals' plan, finally

Friday, July 31, 2020 • Tamil Comments

AP Governor approves the three capitals plan, finally

Governor Biswabhusan Harichand on Friday gave his assent to the Andhra Pradesh Decentralisation and Inclusive Development of All Regions Bill, 2020. With this, the road has been cleared for the setting up of Vizag as the executive capital, Amaravati as the legislative capital, and Kurnool as the judicial capital.

The Capital Region Development Authority (CRDA) Bill has been abolished.

The Telugu Desam Party had urged the Governor not to give a go-ahead to the bills. Since the Chandrababu Naidu government was in favour of building Amaravati as the capital, the Jaganmohan Reddy government's decision to radically change the game hasn't been to the opposition's satisfaction.

AP Capital Region Development Authority (Repeal) Bill, 2020 has also been approved by the Governor.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz