Choose your channels

BCCI approves 10 teams for IPL from 2022 - Details

Thursday, December 24, 2020 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

In a major development, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) general body in its 89th Annual General Meeting in Ahmedabad has approved the inclusion of two more teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) from the 2022 edition. The cash-rich league is currently a contest between 8 teams.

While the upcoming 2021 edition of IPL will feature the same 8 teams as the previous seasons, 2022 will see the inclusion of two new teams, making it a 10-team affair. Regarding the 14th edition of IPL, Amin Pathan, Vice-President of Rajasthan Cricket Association, was quoted as saying, "14th edition of IPL will be held in April 2021 and the teams will be discussed by the executives. BCCI is doing exemplary work for cricket." Additionally, the BCCI has also backed ICC's bid for inclusion of cricket, in the T20 format, in the 2028 Los Angeles Olympics after some clarifications from the International Olympic Committee.

It was earlier reported that an Indian corporate giant had expressed interest in buying the new 9th franchise which will be based out of Ahmedabad, making the new Sardar Patel Stadium as its home ground. However, there is no certainty as to who will buy the franchise or which player will captain the new team and an update regarding the same is expected soon.


Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!