Choose your channels

Bowlers and Openers take CSK to the eighth final

Saturday, May 11, 2019 • Common Sport News Comments

Put in to bat first, DC lost Shaw early in the third over of the innings, As Chahar trapped him LBW for 6(7) 1x4. Dhawan was the next to go as Harbhajan's delivery got the edge and then fell into Dhoni's gloves after a wobble.DC was 37/2 (5.2) at that time. Dhawan's 14 balls 18 had 3 fours.

The next two wickets fell at 57(8.5) and 75(11.3) as Munro and Shreyas Iyer were dismissed by Ravindra Jadeja and Imran Tahir while Bravo and Raina did the catching honors to send those two batsmen with scores of 27(24 ) 4x4 and 13(18) 1x4 respectively.

When Pant was consolidating at one end, wickets were falling in brief intervals. From 80/5(12.5) to 125/8(18.4 ) till pant fell as the 8th wicket, There wasn't any hope of DC securing a 140+ score. In fact, Pant's 38 off 25 with 3 fours and a six, Gave some fresh air to the innings

However, Although Trent Boult did get out for six off three balls, A 16 - run final over by Jadeja featuring Ishant's 10 off 2 balls, Took the capitals to a rather respectable 147/9 From a stage of having been at 93/5 in 15 overs.

Chahar, Harbhajan, Jadeja, and Bravo picked up two wickets each and Imran Tahir picked up Shreya's Iyer's wicket. Harbhajan picked up Rutherford and that wicket eventually became his 150th IPL wicket. Shardul Thakur, Who replaced M.Vijay in the XI, Bowled only one over, The second over of the match and gave away 13 runs.

The beginning of the chase wasn't easy for CSK as Boult and Ishanth gave combined to give just 16 runs in the first four overs. Yet, CSK bounced back with 11 and 15 runs in the last two overs of the powerplay (First over by Axar Patel and the third over of Ishanth) to reach 42/0 in the 6 over phase.

In the second ball of the 11th over Boult dismissed Watson just after CSK got its highest opening stand of the season (83) and Faf got exactly 50 runs with 7 fours and a six. Off 38 balls. Keemo Paul ran from deep square leg to catch the ball.

Soon after, Watson completed his second fifty off 31 balls with 3 fours and 4 sixes. Yet, He got out off the very next delivery he faced, As the outside half of the bat hit the ball and Wide Long -Off (Boult ) caught the ball.CSK were 109/2 in 12.2 overs at the juncture.

Before the last strategic time out (At the end of the 16th over, Raina chopped Axar delivery on to the stumps in an attempt to cut and perished for 11 off 13 balls. With just 2 runs away from victory, Dhoni made an attempt to finish it off in his style, but Kermo Paul took his second catch of the day to make Dhoni's innings just 9(9)

Bravo's boundary, sealed the game for CSK as they won with an over left and by a 6 wicket margin. This victory is a the100th victory in IPL.

Faf Du Plessis got the man of the match award

CSK have gone through to their 8th final in the ten seasons they featured. A CSK vs MI final is about to happen for the fourth time on Sunday night. CSK won it in 2010, While MI won the next two clashes in 2013 and 2015 Respectively.

Despite a strong return post-revamp, Delhi based franchise remains the only team not to feature in an IPL final.

Match Facts:

#CSKvsDC #Visakhapatnam #Qualifier 2

CSK opt to bowl.

Chennai Super Kings (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis, Shane Watson, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, MS Dhoni(w/c), Dwayne Bravo, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Imran Tahir

In: Shardul Thakur | Out Murali Vijay

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Colin Munro, Axar Patel, Sherfane Rutherford, Keemo Paul, Amit Mishra, Trent Boult, Ishant Sharma


-Kumanan Kumanan

Images Courtesy: IPLT20 BCCI

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz