Choose your channels

Election Commission says no election in 3 TN constituencies!

Thursday, March 28, 2019 • Tamil Comments

The Election Commission has responded in the Supreme Court that the elections for three constituencies namely Aravakurichi, Thirupparankundram and Ottapidaram cannot be conducted now. It must be noted that the Lok Sabha election as well as they Bye election polling for Tamil Nadu is scheduled on April 18.

DMK party had filed a petition in the Election Commission requesting them to conduct the bye elections for Aravakurichi, Ottapidaram and Thirupparankundram constituencies along with the bye elections as they are vacant, and the petition was filed at Supreme court as well. This plea filed by DMK came for hearing today in the Supreme court.

During the hearing, the Election Commission replied that the election for these three vacant constituencies cannot be held on 18 April along with the bye election. They cited that the elections for these constituencies cannot be held in a hurry, and that they will schedule the elections at appropriate time. Election commission also added that along with these three constituencies, Sulur might also get its election scheduled.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz