Choose your channels
Farhan Akhtar, Yo Yo Honey Singh kick-start IIFA 2014 voting
Thursday, February 13, 2014 • Hindi Comments

The IIFA Voting weekend was held this past weekend in Mumbai from the 7th to the 9th of February seeing an outpour of industry support, where members of the film fraternity voted for their peers. Amongst the many that came in were Farhan Akthar, Shabhana Azmi, Randhir Kapoor, Mukesh Bhatt, Yo-Yo Honey Singh, Farah Khan, Nirmat Kaur and many others.

Every year, IIFA Academy members and the Film Industry are invited to cast their votes and shortlist nominations in the category of the Popular Awards. The Technical Award winners and the Popular Award nominations are derived from the voting weekend. The IIFA Voting Weekend is open to the individuals who form an integral part of the film industry and not to the public at large. The practice is adhered to in order to ensure that the nominations derived by the voting process is credible and by the industry.

The IIFA Voting process is a stringent and methodical procedure that is closely monitored by KPMG, the official auditors of the event. The popular category nominations will then be available for the global audience to participate in the voting process. The final winners of the IIFA Awards are revealed on the night of the Awards ceremony when the envelope is opened onstage, in front of the live audience. The results are surrounded by secrecy and the credibility of the voting process is one of the key parameters of this prestigious award.