Choose your channels

'Baahubali' and 'Thani Oruvan' dominate IIFA Awards 2016

Monday, January 25, 2016 • Tamil Comments

International Indian Film Academy ‘Utsavam’ awards function for the year 2015 was held recently in Hyderabad. While going through the winners list of Tamil films, we can clearly see the domination of the sensational blockbuster ‘Baahubali’ which grabbed five awards in various categories. Director Mohan Raja's ‘Thani Oruvan’ won three awards and Dhanush's ‘Maari’ two awards. Nayanthara's 'Maya' has won one award.

Here’s the list of award winners:

  • Best Picture - Baahubali

  • Best Director - Mohan Raja (Thani Oruvan)

  • Best Lead Role Male - Jayam Ravi (Thani Oruvan)

  • Best Lead Role Female - Nayanthara (Maya)

  • Best Supporting Role Male - Sathyaraj (Baahubali)

  • Best supporting Role female - Ramya Krishna (Baahubali)

  • Best Negative Role - Arvind Swamy (Thani Oruvan)

  • Best Comic Role - Kovai Sarala (Kanchana 2)

  • Best Music Director - Anirudh Ravichander (Maari)

  • Best playback Singer Male - Haricharan Seshadri (Manohari from Baahubali)

  • Best Playback Singer Female – Geetha Madhuri (Jeeva Nadhi from Baahubali)

  • Best Lyricist - Dhanush (Don’U’ Don‘U' from Maari)

Indiaglitz congratulates the winners.