Choose your channels

India elected to non-permanent UN security council unopposed

Friday, June 19, 2020 • Tamil Comments

India has been elected unopposed as one of the non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) from the Asia-Pacific category for a two-year term on Wednesday, June 17.

India was elected as a member of the UNSC after securing a whopping total of 184 votes in the 193-member General Assembly, where the minimum requirement to get elected was 128 votes. India received overwhelming support in its election to the UN Security Council and it will continue to provide leadership and a new orientation for a reformed multilateral system, India's Permanent Representative to the UN Ambassador T S Tirumurti, who is based from Tamil Nadu's Chennai, reportedly said. Following the announcement of the election results, Tirumurti stated in a video conference, "I am truly delighted that India has been elected as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council for 2021-22. We have received overwhelming support and I'm deeply humbled by the tremendous confidence which the member states of the United Nations have reposed in India."

"Our election to the UNSC is a testament to PM Modi's vision and his inspiring global leadership, particularly in the time of Covid-19. The outcome is a reflection of the strong campaign led by EAM S. Jaishankar. India will become a member of the UNSC at a critical juncture. And we are confident that in the COVID and post-COVID world, India will continue to provide leadership and a new orientation for a reformed multilateral system," he further added.

The UN high-table has five permanent veto-wielding members - the US, Britain, France, China and Russia - and 10 non-permanent members, and India's two year term will begin on January 1, 2021. "Member States elect India to the non-permanent seat of the Security Council for the term 2021-22 with overwhelming support," India's Permanent Mission to the UN tweeted.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz