Choose your channels

These filmmakers are at loggerheads for an award !

Saturday, May 5, 2018 • Malayalam Comments

These filmmakers are at loggerheads for an award !

This year's National Film Awards ceremony was held in the midst of controversies and protests. The Union Government announced that only eleven persons were given the President's award at the function. Many winners have been boycott the event. Actor Joy Mathew was criticized the boycott.

Joy Mathew was given a Facebook post for criticizing those who boycotted the ceremony. Joy Mathew said in his Facebook page that he could not understand the stand of the actors why they are not ready to accept the award from Union Minister Smriti Irani.

Dr. Biju, a critically acclaimed filmmaker has reacted sharply against the double standards this “actor-director”. Dr. Biju remarked that The actor-director, who now claims that he is making films not for awards but to attract the viewers, has mocked those who boycotted yesterday’s National film awards ceremony,  But the irony here is, says Dr. Biju, that the same actor-director had called him after the National film awards were announced in 2012. 

Dr. Biju was a member of the jury. The actor-director showered abuses over the phone and even went to extent of calling caste based abuses for which a complaint was filed, when his film failed to win any awards. The case is still going on, says Dr. Biju.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz