Choose your channels

Kalaimamani awards announced

Friday, May 11, 2007 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The state government has announced Kalaimamani awards Thursday.

Popular film personalities including Silambarasan, Vishal, Jayam Ravi, Jeeva, Vineeth, Venu Aravindh, Kanja Karupu, Trisha, Navya Nair, Deepa Venkat, Aarthy and CID Sakunthala have been selected to receive the awards.

Also lyricists Pa Vijay, Kabilan, Na Muthukumar and music composer Vidyasagar have been chosen for the honor.

The list also includes names like playback singers Thippu, Madhu Balakrishnan and Bombay Jayashree, cinematographer Paneerselvam.

A thrilled Trisha says,”I thank the State government for bestowing the rare honor on me. I deem it a privilege to win the highest award from the State government”.

Thanking director Ameer for giving him a break in Ram, Kanja Karuppu, says, “But for Ameer I would have been no where. It is a happy occasion for me”.

Jeeva, currently shooting for Rameshwaram, says, '”I thank the Chief Minister M Karunanidhi for bestowing the title on me. It is a tonic for me to do my job well”.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!