Choose your channels

Kerala election results: Pinarayi Vijayan's LDF is leading

Sunday, May 2, 2021 • Malayalam Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Kerala election results: Pinarayi Vijayans LDF is leading

The counting of votes for 140 constituencies in the Kerala assembly polls began at 8 am on Sunday and is underway at a brisk pace. The ruling LDF maintained its lead in 96 of the 140 assembly constituencies in Kerala while the opposition Congress-headed UDF was ahead in 44 segments, as per trends available till 2:00 p.m.

Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan was leading in his home turf against his nearest rival C Raghunathan of the Congress by over 7,810 votes. Meanwhile, Ministers KK Shailaja, AC Moideen, E Chandrasekharan, Kadakampally Surendran, and MM Mani were leading in their respective constituencies. Opposition leader Ramesh Chennithala and former Chief Minister Oommen Chandy maintained their leads in Haripad and Puthupally respectively. BJP candidates 'Metroman' E Sreedharan and Kummanam Rajasekharan were also leading in Palakkad and Nemom constituencies respectively.

If the various pre-poll and post-poll surveys are anything to go by, it is expected that the Left will get continuation in power with a thumping victory.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!   

Related Videos