Choose your channels

Meet The Cinema 'Padma' Winners

Sunday, January 26, 2014 • Common Comments

This year list of ‘Padma’ awardees includes four Cinema professionals and all the four have been associated at some point in some way or the other with the South India.

Kamal Hassan who is awarded ‘Padma Bhushan’ is a South Indian super star and perhaps the epitome of versatility in on-screen performance. The three time national and 19 times Film Fare award winner had been conferred with Padma Sri way back in 1990. This year, the Padma awards upgraded itself to Bhushan for Kamal.

Vidya Balan, who had an eventful career starting with ‘Parineeta’ in 2003, went on to win National award once and five film fare awards too. Past 2-3 years have been pivotal in her career and she deservingly got the ‘Padma Sri’ analyze pundits.

Santosh Sivan, the ace cinematographer is given ‘Padma Sri’. The first Asian cinematographer to be included in the American Society Of Cinematographers (ASC), he has won as many as 11 National awards for his work as cinematographer, director and producer besides several recognitions in international film festivals.

The next name is Paresh Rawal, one of the most versatile actor on the Indian screen is given ‘Padma Sri’ this year. The 63 year old national award winning actor has been one of the hot favorite for writers and directors across the languages spectrum for a special performance. He acted in a few Telugu films as well and is quite well known to Telugu and Tamil audiences as well.

IndiaGlitz congratulates all the four Padma awardees this year and affirm that we are proud of them.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz