close
Choose your channels

Not Bowler but Umpire gets Gayle Out on Free Hit Ball

Friday, June 7, 2019 • Tamil Comments

The match between West Indies and Australia yesterday was very close, with the Windies just missing out towards the end. What is disappointing however is that an umpiring mistake may have cost them the match. Umpire Chris Gaffaney gave batsman Chris Gayle out on two balls in the third over. When this was reviewed both times, it was found to be not out. The first time the ball had touched the stumps but the bails hadn’t fallen. The second time an LBW was given but the ball was seen to miss the stumps. Following this, in the fifth over Mitchell Starc’s huge no ball was missed by the same umpire. On the very next ball, Gayle was given out by LBW by Chris Gaffaney.

This was a serious oversight by the umpire as wickets do not count on free hit balls. Fans have been expressing their anger over the incident on Twitter. West Indies lost the match by a small margin of 15 runs. And the batsman who was out was not an ordinary player, everyone knows what he is capable of when he gets going. Teammate Kieron Pollard voiced his anger about the decision. Fans also posted comments such as: ”Twice for Gayle, twice for Holder. Four decisions reversed, along with a no-ball not being given. Terrible umpiring at #AUSvWI” and “Chris gaffaney finally gets the wicket of Gayle ?? #AUSvsWI #CW2019.” Actor Dhanush also shared his views saying: “I hope that umpire is happy who dint want West Indies to win at any cost !! #congratsumpire  .. well fought windies. Had to be looked into. #icc  poor umpiring at its level best. Oh biased as well.” Commentator Harsha Bhogle said: “The Umpire Strikes Back. Eventually. #Gayle.”

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz