Choose your channels

Shocking: Novak Djokovic disqualified from US Open after hitting lineswoman!

Monday, September 7, 2020 • Tamil Sport News Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

In a shocking incident, World number one Tennis player Novak Djokovic was disqualified in the fourth round of US Open on yesterday after he hit a lineswoman with a ball during his match against Spain player Pablo Carreno Busta.

Djokovic was frustrated during the match as he couldn't take the opening set against Busta and out of frustration he hit the ball to the back of the court, that hit the lineswoman. Djokovic immediately apologised after the lineswoman collapsed to the ground, gasping in pain.

The lineswoman got to her feet and following this, tournament referee Soeren Friemel and grand slam supervisor Andreas Egli discussed the situation with Djokovic, and then Djokovic packed up his rackets ending his US Open 2020 campaign. Djokovic later tweeted "This whole situation has left me really sad and empty. I checked on the lines person and the tournament told me that thank God she is feeling ok. I‘m extremely sorry to have caused her such stress. So unintended".

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!