Choose your channels

Thaman bags National Award for 'Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo'

Friday, July 22, 2022 • Telugu Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

'Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo' has a new feather in the cap. The 2020 blockbuster, starring Allu Arjun and Pooja Hegde in the lead, is in the news because its composer SS Thaman has won a National Award at the 68th National Film Awards in the Best Music Director category.

Thaman, who is perhaps the busiest music director in the country, won the Award for songs. For background music, the Award went to GV Prakash Kumar for 'Soorarai Pottru' ('Aakasame Nee Haddhu Raa' in Telugu).

Thaman deserves the award purely for the sheer popularity of the songs. 'Samajavaragamana' became a massive hit. "The song weds the Classical with the modern. Thaman trods the difficult path with finesse, thanks to his unique sense of music. The way the tempo raises with Sid Sriram uttering the title of the song is an exercise in subtlety. The song is immersive. Sirivennela's lines are rooted in poetic Telugu, complete with some never-heard-before usages," our review of the song said.

The peppy 'Ramuloo Ramulaa' is also a big hit. "The folksy lyrics get just the kind of musical vibes that a star vehicle needed. Combined with the crooning prowess of Anurag Kulkarni, this one delivers a dekko. Mangli's voice adds to the rustic feel. The song feels rooted," our review noted at that time.

IndiaGlitz congratulates Thaman and his director Trivikram Srinivas for the award. 'AVPL', produced by Haarika & Hassine Creations, is a landmark film for Bunny.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!