Choose your channels

Tokyo Paralympics: Pramod Bhagat wins historic gold in Badminton

Saturday, September 4, 2021 • Tamil Sport News Comments

Four-time world champion Pramod Bhagat scripted history by becoming the first para-shuttler from the country to win a gold medal at the Paralympics. Reigning world champion Bhagat defeated Daniel Bethell of Great Britain in the final of the Men's Singles SL3 category to win the gold medal at the Tokyo Paralympics 2020.

Bhagat score stood 21-14, 21-17 in the final event before he clinched the gold. It is India's fourth gold in the Paralympic Games after Avani Lekhara in the women's 10m air rifle standing SH1 event, Sumit Antil in the men's javelin throw F64 category and Manish Narwal in the mixed 50m pistol SH1 event earlier today.

Officially, India's medals tally at the Tokyo Paralympics now stands at 17 medals, including four golds, seven silvers and six bronzes. Their previous best was four medals at the Stoke Mandeville and New York Paralympics in 1984 and Rio Paralympics in 2016.

India's Manoj Sarkar won bronze in the same event after defeating Japan's Daisuke Fujihara 22-20, 21-13 in the bronze medal match. Ranked 3rd in the SL 3 category in the world rankings, Sarkar is a multiple medalist at the Para-Badminton World Championships and Asian Games.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!   

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz