Choose your channels

Two MPs attempt to tear down Indian Constitution

Monday, August 5, 2019 • Telugu Comments

Soon after Union Home Minister Amit Shah said in Rajya Sabha that Article 370 would be revoked, MPs belonging to People's Democratic Party and National Conference made a hue and cry.  Two TDP MPs went to the extent of tearing down copies of the Indian Constitution.

The MPs are Nazir Ahmad Laway and MM Fayaz.  "The two PDP MPs were asked to go out of the House after they attempted to tear the constitution. MM Fayaz also tore his kurta in protest," a news agency report says.

Meanwhile, thousands of additional troops have been ordered to be sent to the Kashmir Valley to maintain law and order.  "Close to 8,000 paramilitary troops airlifted and moved in from Uttar Pradesh, Odisha, Assam and other parts of the country to the Kashmir valley. Troops induction still going on," a report says.  

J&K is now a Union Territory with Assembly, much like Delhi.  Ladakh is a UT without a legislature.

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz