Choose your channels

Why Vijay Sethupathi and Nayanthara boycotted prestigious awards

Monday, June 18, 2018 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Why Vijay Sethupathi and Nayanthara boycotted prestigious awards

The 65th Filmfare Awards ceremony was held in a grand manner in Hyderabad and the Tamil films 'Vikram Vedha' and 'Aramm' dominated in Tamil cinema. Vijay Sethupathi was named Best Actor in a leading role for 'Vikram Vedha', Nayanthara the Best Actress for 'Aramm', Madhavan and Karthi the Critics Choice Best Actors for 'Vikram Vedha' and 'Dheeran Adhigaram Ondru' respectively.

Vijay Sethupathi, Karthi and Nayanthara boycotted the Filmfare ceremony and did not recieve their awards in person. The Nadigar Sangam has decided that any awards show must pay a donation of minimum 10 Lakh rupees for the celebrities to attend in view of utilising the amount towards artistes who are out of work and in poverty. Filmfare however has refused to pay up the donation even though it was intimated well in advance. The Nadigar Sangam has thanked the stars who boycotted the show.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!