close
Choose your channels

WhatsApp to stop working for people who do not agree to its new privacy policy - Details

Wednesday, January 6, 2021 • Tamil Comments

Facebook-owned messaging application WhatsApp has updated its privacy policy and terms of service, giving the users a month's time to accept the same in order to continue using their services. Failure to do so would lead to the users being unable to use the app.

According to reports, the new updates include more information about WhatsApp's service and how it processes user data. Further, there are updates on how businesses use Facebook hosted services to store and manage their WhatsApp chats. The new privacy policy also looks at how WhatsApp partners with Facebook to offer integrations across the latter's company. Explaining in detail the information it plans to share with Facebook's companies, WhatsApp stated, "The information we share with the other Facebook Companies includes your account registration information (such as your phone number), transaction data, service-related information, information on how you interact with others (including businesses) when using our Services, mobile device information, your IP address, and may include other information identified in the Privacy Policy section entitled 'Information We Collect' or obtained upon notice to you or based on your consent."

Speaking about collecting location information of the users as well, WhatsApp added, "Even if you do not use our location-related features, we use IP addresses and other information like phone number area codes to estimate your general location (e.g., city and country). We also use your location information for diagnostics and troubleshooting purposes." The messaging company also mentioned that deleting one's account does not result in all information being deleted immediately. WhatsApp said, "Please remember that when you delete your account, it does not affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them."

Get Breaking News Alerts From IndiaGlitz