Choose your channels

Artist turnout to vote

Sunday, May 13, 2018 • Kannada Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Artist turnout to vote

Majority of Kannada cinema artists exercised their franchise on Saturday for the 15th Karnataka Assembly elections. The turnout is 75 percent voting according to sources. For the 15th Karnataka Assembly 15th May is the deciding factor day.

The Kannada cinema artists Dr Shivarajakumar and wife, Puneeth Rajakumar and wife, Upendra and wife Priyanka, Kichcha Sudeep, Priya Sudeep, Jaggesh, Dr Ambarish, Devaraj family, Yash, Srujan Lokesh, Dr B Saroja Devi, Dr Jayanthi, Dr Leelavathi, Dr Jayamala, Dr Bharathi Vishnuvardhana, Vinay Rajakumar, Raghavendra Rajakumar, Chine Gowda, Srimurali, Vijay Raghavendra, Praitha and scores of other voted on May 12 between 7 am and 6 pm.

For actor Aditya the name was not found in the list. After a long wait he had to return. Dr Leelavathi came with her son Vinod Raj early to the polling booth and waited for one hour. For Ramesh Aravind daughter Niharika it was first time voting.

For challenging star Darshan, Golden star Ganesh and a few others from cinema fraternity the voting was called off because of mal practices at the Raja Rajeshwari Nagara constituency. Kannada Cinema Producer Association President and sitting MLA, producer of ‘Munirathna Kurukshetra’ is the Congress I candidate facing allegation. It is because of trace thousands of voter ID cards with his publicity cards the Election Commission deferred the election to May 28 and counting for May 31.

Among the three major political parties Congress I, BJP and JDS the survey reports predict a hung assembly for the 15th Karnataka state Assembly.
The counting of 75 percent of voting out of 5 crores voters will be on 15th of May – Amavasye day.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!