Choose your channels

DMK's Dayanidhi Maran to Face BJP's Vinoj P. Selvam in Chennai Central Lok Sabha Battle

Monday, March 25, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

The Election Commission recently unveiled the comprehensive timetable for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Spanning seven phases, the polls will commence on April 19 and conclude on June 1, with results slated for June 4. Tamil Nadu, boasting 39 parliamentary seats, will see its constituents heading to the polls in a single phase on April 19.

Chennai Central, one of the three Lok Sabha constituencies in the state capital, houses a substantial electorate. During the 2019 Lok Sabha Elections, the Chennai Central constituency recorded 1,332,300 voters, according to ECI data.

In the forthcoming elections, the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) has once again nominated Dayanidhi Maran for the Chennai Central Lok Sabha constituency. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has nominated Vinoj P. Selvam, while the Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam (DMDK) has nominated B Parthasarathy.

In the previous elections, Dayanidhi Maran emerged victorious, securing 448,911 votes under the DMK banner, followed by PMK’s Sam Paul, who garnered 147,391 votes. The constituency's total voter count stood at 785,757.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha polls, AIADMK’s S. R. Vijayakumar clinched victory in the Chennai Central seat with 333,296 votes, with Dayanidhi Maran finishing as the runner-up with 287,455 votes.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!