Choose your channels

EC releases Telangana voting percentage in 17 Loksabha constituencies

Tuesday, May 14, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

EC releases Telangana voting percentage in 17 Loksabha constituencies

Telangana witnessed a largely peaceful Lok Sabha election on Monday, with a provisional voter turnout of 64.20%, surpassing the 62.77% recorded in the 2019 general elections. The state saw a three-way contest between the ruling Congress, the opposition Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), and the BJP, with 525 candidates vying for the 17 Lok Sabha seats.

"We have got a very good response right from morning. The weather was also supportive, so we had a good turnout. There was no problem on the law and order side either," said Chief Electoral Officer Vikas Raj.

While Zahirabad recorded the highest turnout at 75.19%, Hyderabad saw the lowest at 45.07%, despite the day being declared a holiday. This low turnout, attributed to voter apathy, saw many residents opting to stay home or enjoy the long weekend.

Polling in Maoist-affected areas of Jayashankar Bhupalpally and Mulugu assembly segments in Warangal, and Mahabubabad assembly segment in Mahabubabad concluded at 4 pm for security reasons. However, voters already in queue were allowed to cast their ballots.

Despite the overall peaceful election, a few villages boycotted the polls in protest against government decisions. This included Balmoor village in Nagarkurnool district, demanding cancellation of limestone mining permissions, and Rayamadaram village in Khammam, protesting the lack of a bridge over the Nagarjuna Sagar project canal. Similar boycotts occurred in Kanumukkala village in Yadadri Bhongir and Allampalli village in Nirmal district over local issues.

In Hyderabad, the BJP alleged that AIMIM workers attempted to rig the polls in Jamal Colony and Riyasat Nagar, where AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi is contesting.

In addition to the Lok Sabha elections, by-elections for the Secunderabad Cantonment assembly seat were also held. The seat fell vacant following the death of sitting BRS MLA G Lasya Nandita on February 23.Even after officials and NGOs taking various initiatives, Telangana people especially from Hyderabad chose to stay away from the voting.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!