Choose your channels

Jolt to KCR, BRS Chevella MP Ranjith Reddy resigns

Sunday, March 17, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

In another setback for the Bharat Rashtra Samiti (BRS), MP Ranjith Reddy has resigned from the party and joined the Congress. Reddy is expected to contest for the Chevella constituency on the Congress ticket. Additionally, BRS MP Danam Nagendra also joined the Congress on Sunday.

The induction ceremony took place in the presence of Chief Minister Revanth Reddy and AICC Incharge Deepadas Munshi. Reddy cited evolving political circumstances as the reason for his resignation from the BRS. He stated, "Due to evolving political circumstances, I have made this difficult decision to submit my resignation."

Announcing his decision on a microblogging site, Reddy said, "I’m writing to inform all my supporters and people that I have submitted the formal letter of resignation to the BRS party. I would like to convey my gratitude to the BRS party for the meaningful opportunity provided & the cooperation extended in my service to the people of Chevella constituency."

This development comes after the party announced Kasani Gnaneshwar, a leader from the Mudhiraj community, as its MP candidate from Chevella.In his resignation letter addressed to BRS chief K Chandrashekhar Rao, Reddy expressed "heartfelt gratitude" for the opportunities provided by the party.

Ranjith Reddy is the latest MP to quit the BRS, following BB Patil and Pothuganti Ramulu. Patil and Ramulu joined the BJP, while Warangal MP Pasunoori Dayakar quit BRS to join Congress. Many other BRS MPs have also left the party in recent weeks amid BRS MLC K Kavitha's arrest in connection with the Delhi liquor policy case.

Following Congress's victory over BRS in the Telangana Assembly election, several former ministers and MLAs quit BRS and joined the ruling party. As the Lok Sabha polls approach, many important leaders across several constituencies are leaving BRS for a place in the Congress, with dissatisfaction over the candidate selection process of the pink party for the LS polls.

With Reddy's resignation, the number of BRS sitting MPs quitting the party has reached 5, including BB Patil from Zaheerabad, Venkatesh Neta from Peddapalli, Pasnuri Dayakar from Warangal, and P Ramulu from Nagarkurnool. Reports suggest that Reddy might soon join the list of BRS leaders joining the Congress.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!