Choose your channels

TDP's Guntur Candidate Pemmasani Chandrasekhar the richest in fray for Lok Sabha elections

Tuesday, April 23, 2024 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Pemmasani Chandrasekhar, the Telugu Desam Party's candidate for the Guntur Lok Sabha seat in Andhra Pradesh, stands as one of the wealthiest contenders in the state's political arena, declaring assets totaling a staggering Rs 5,785.28 crore.

A distinguished doctor by profession, Chandrasekhar has ventured into diverse business realms, augmenting his financial portfolio. His annual income for the fiscal year 2022-23 amounted to Rs 3,68,840, while his wife, Koneru Sriratna, earned Rs 1,47,680 during the same period.

In terms of movable assets, Chandrasekhar boasts assets worth Rs 2,316 crore, including fixed deposits, term deposits, and various investments. Meanwhile, Koneru Sriratna holds movable assets valued at Rs 2,289 crore.

The couple's immovable assets stand at Rs 72,00,24,245 for Chandrasekhar and Rs 34,82,22,507 for Sriratna. However, their significant wealth is accompanied by liabilities, with Chandrasekhar owing Rs 519 crore and his spouse bearing an equivalent burden.

Moreover, the couple jointly own shares in nearly 101 companies worldwide, underscoring their extensive business interests and global footprint.

Chandrasekhar's academic credentials include an MD in Internal Medicine from the prestigious Geisinger Medical Centre in Danville, Pennsylvania, USA, obtained in 2005. He also holds an MBBS degree from Dr. NTR University of Health Sciences, Andhra Pradesh, earned in 1999.

Despite his considerable wealth and influence, Chandrasekhar maintains a clean record, with no pending criminal cases against him.

The upcoming Lok Sabha elections in Andhra Pradesh, slated for May 13, coincide with the Assembly polls in the state. In the Guntur constituency, a traditional battleground for the TDP and YSR Congress Party (YSRCP), Chandrasekhar will contend against K Venkata Rosaiah of the ruling party.

The electoral history of Guntur reflects intense competition, with the 2019 Lok Sabha polls witnessing a closely contested race. Galla Jayadev of the TDP emerged victorious with 587,918 votes, closely followed by YSRCP's Modugula Venugopala Reddy with 583,713 votes, and JSP's Bonaboyina Srinivas Yadav with 125,205 votes. In the 2014 elections, the TDP's dominance was evident, with Jayadev securing 49.68 per cent of the votes against YSRCP's Balashowri Vallabhaneni.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!