Choose your channels

Whoa! Thala Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings lift the IPL trophy for the fifth time

Tuesday, May 30, 2023 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Whoa! Thala Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings lift the IPL trophy for the fifth time

IPL just had one of its best seasons. 2023 has been a phenomenal stint in this most famous T20 league. After a fantastic set of games, the final match of the season took much longer time than expected. The defending champions Gujarat Titans were set to clash with the legendary Chennai Super Kings on Sunday (May 28).

But the showdown was postponed to the reserve day (May 29) due to heavy rains. On Monday, CSK won the toss and chose to bowl first. GT scored 214 runs in 120 balls and set a stunning target of 215 for CSK to chase. Tamil Nadu-based player Sai Sudharshan played a crucial knock of 96 off 47 for GT. The rain stopped the play after CSK played 3 balls. The game was reduced to 15 overs by the DLS method with a target of 171.

The ultimate showdown resumed on 30th May at 12.10 AM with CSK needing 167 runs from 14.3 overs. CSK's opening pair cemented a sold 74-run partnership of 33 balls before Noor Ahmed took the wickets of both Gaikwad and Conway in the same over. Shivam Dube and Ajinkya Rahane came into the play. Though Dube took his time to fire, Rahane took on the bowlers right away and kept the momentum.

Ajinkya Rahane got out after a cameo knock with 27 off 13 balls. Ambati Rayudu took his place and punished prolific Mohit Sharma for boundaries. Meanwhile, Shivam Dube took the dangerous Rashid Khan for 2 clean sixes. When 22 needed off 15, Rayudu lost his wicket to Mohit Sharma. Thala Dhoni walked into the crease but was caught by David Miller on extra cover in his first hit. Ravindra Jadeja was the new batter.

Chennai Super Kings suffered a major blow by Mohit Sharma's spell. Mohammed Shami just gave 8 runs in the penultimate over. CSK needed 13 runs in the last over and Mohit Sharma came to complete his spell. He conceded only 3 runs in his first 4 balls on the night of the final. Then, Jadeja pulled off a miracle by smashing a six and a four in the last balls to take the Yello Brigade to the fifth IPL trophy.

Now, CSK holds the joint record for the most number of trophies in IPL along with Mumbai Indians. CSK is the only team to defeat Gujarat Titans in back-to-back games. Ravindra Jadeja made sure that MS Dhoni is happy on the night of his 250th IPL game. CSK is the only team qualified for 12 playoffs and 10 finals with Dhoni being the only captain to do so. The Chennai boys are the Champions of IPL 2023.


Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!   


Login to post comment