Follow us on
  1. தமிழ்
  2. తెలుగు
  3. Hindi
  4. Tamil
  5. Telugu
  6. Malayalam
  7. Kannada

Pithamagan sweeps FilmFare Awards

IndiaGlitz [Saturday, June 05, 2004]

Tamil blockbuster Pithamagan has swept the Filmfare Awards by bagging six awards including the best actor award for Vikram and best director award for Bala. Veteran playback singer Dr K J Yesudas and actress Vijayashanthi have been conferred with lifetime achievement awards for their excellence and contribution in their fields.

The 51st edition of the awards announced in Chennai yesterday saw Pithamagan taking the honors. It was a movie based on the life of a undertaker and had Vikram playing the lead. Interestingly, Vikram had mouthed no dialogues in the film. Surya played as a supporting actor.

The entire movie was shot in and around a village in Theni district. Produced by V A Durai, Pithamagan mopped up huge revenue at the box-office and got raving reviews. The movie dubbed in Telugu has been doing brisk business all over Andhra Pradesh.

In the Tamil category, the awards won by Pithamagan include best film, best director (Bala) best actor(Vikram), best actress (Laila), best actor in supporting role (Surya), best actress in supporting role(Sangeetha).

The award for the best actor in comic role has been bagged by Vivek for his laught-riot in Saamy, while Jeevan, who played a gangster Pandya in Khaaka Khaaka, has been chosen as the best actor for his villainous role. Harris Jeyaraj won the award for best music-director for his tunes in Kaakha Kaakha. The Special Jury Award for the best film would be presented to Anbae Sivam starring Kamal Haasan and Madhavan and produced y K Muralidharan, V Swaminathan and G Venugopal.

In the Telugu category, Okkadu bagged the awards for best film, best director (Gunasekhar), best actor (Mahesh Babu), and best music-composer (Mani Sharma). Asin has been chosen as the best actress for her role in Amma Naana O Tamil Ammayi. Prakash Raj won the best actor in supporting role for his performance in Tagore. In Malayalam category, Manasinakkare hogged the limelight. The movie bagged awards for best film, best director (Sathyan Antikad), best actor (Jayaram) and best music-director (Illayaraja). Meera Jasmine was chosen the best actress for her role in Kasturimaan.

Among Kannada films, Udeep and Meena won the best actor and best actresses award for the movie Swathi Muthu, while Paris Pranya was chosen the best film.

Among the technical awards, Rajasekhar was adjudged the best cinematographer and Brinda best choreographer for Khaakha Khaaka and Vishnu best newcomer for a Telugu movie (Vishnu). The awards would be presented in Chennai on June 12th.

D Imman back with Giri and Kalinga

Copyright 2014 IndiaGlitz. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Hindi | Tamil | Telugu | Malayalam | Kannada
Home | Tell a friend | Contact Us | Advertise | Terms | Privacy Policy | RSS/Content Syndication | Submit Showtimes

Copyright 2014 All rights reserved.