Choose your channels

Irumbu Thirai Music Review

Irumbu Thirai Music Review
Vishal Film Factory
Vishal, Arya, Samantha, Arjun, Robo Shankar, Vincent Ashokan, Gopi Gpr
P.S. Mithran
Glows with Yuvan's impressive score
Tuesday, January 23, 2018 • Tamil Comments

Album: Irumbu Thirai

Composer: Yuvan Shankar raja

No.of.Tracks: 5

Release Date: Tentative

Glows with Yuvan's impressive score

Yuvan Shankar Raja has scored the music for ‘Irumbu Thirai’ directed by P.S.Mithran which features Vishal, Arjun and Samantha in the lead roles. The album is adequately packed with five tracks and Yuvan has went on to prove his mettle in ‘Irumbu Thirai’ special mention to Yaar Ivan and Athiradi with Azhage reminding us of why we love Yuvan for his romantic numbers. Here’s our take on this most awaited album.


Yaar Ivan

Voices: Kaber Vasuki

Lyricist: Kaber Vasuki

Composer: Yuvan Shankar Raja

Right off the bat, Yuvan's instrumental portions of 'Yaar Ivan' will have you hooked to the follow up. The composer has brought about a tone of mystery in his composition. Later into its parts, the track has some electronic zaps and synth work that if not striking, justifies the track’s flavour. As Kaber Vasuki’s shrieking and sometimes low pitch rendering feeds soul to the number, raw lyrical lines equally amplify the gothic instrumentals with its philosophical underpinnings.



Voices: Arun Kamath, Jonita Gandhi

Lyricist: Vivek

Composer: Yuvan Shankar Raja

With a slow and unhurried pace, Azhagae has a pleasing start to its credit. Yuvan's peculiar treatment when it comes to duet and melodies is visible with peculiar laboriousness and restrain in the vocals. Rhythms and beat patterns greatly support the ‘wavy’ song. Even though Arun and Jonita have dished out adequately impressive performances, you just can't stop wondering what amazing texture Yuvan if had chosen to sing this song, could have brought into 'Azhagae'. Altogether this melodious duet treatment from Yuvan is enjoyable.



Voices: Naveen

Lyrics: Vivek

Composer: Yuvan Shankar Raja

True to its title, this track is really 'athiradi' with amped up guitar reams and Naveen’s excellent spew of mass-attributing lines. Whenever you listen to Yuvan’s singers, you see a lot of the composer in their renditions. Naveen’s inflections and vocal strains remind you the same. The ‘band’ish interception with a retro flavour elevates the song’s authenticity surprisingly. Yuvan in his element.


Angry Bird

Voices: Jithin Raj

Lyrics: Vignesh Shivn

Composer: Yuvan Shankar Raja

Yuvan has managed to maintain the quality of music in this song as well, though it is a bit lagging comparatively to the bar set by other tracks. But this is a fun, jovial song with colloquial and catchy lines written by. . .yes, Vignesh Shivn. So it adds a lot to the song’s otherwise run-of-the-mill feel. Jithin Raj vocal manages to rise amidst the sometimes jarring background here and there, but an overall feel good song nevertheless.


Mudhal Murai

Voices: Jithin Raj

Lyrics: Vivek

Composer: Yuvan Shankar Raja

The mix of Nadaswaram portions might be a bit odd for a song trying to remain ‘modern’, the paradox being the nadaswaram portions coming off as highly punctuated. They are highly listenable even though seem moot for this track. Yuvan has brought Jithi for a second number in the album, while ‘Angry Bird’ still seems to be best of the two (thanks to Vignesh Shivn lyrics). This song necessarily might not interest you however deserves a chance to be heard.


Pick of the album: Athiradi

Verdict: The album is a definite marker of Yuvan’s expertise with Athiradi, Yaar Ivan and Azhage. Playlist worthy.

Rating: 2.75