Choose your channels

Pujara scores first T20 century, Shreyas Iyer sets T20 record

Thursday, February 21, 2019 • Tamil Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Known for his skills in Tests, Cheteshwar Pujara proved his versatility in cricket on Thursday by scoring his maiden century in the first T20 match of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy against Railways at the Holkar stadium in Indore. He also became the first ever batsman from Saurashtra to score a T20 century.

The opener scored 100 from 61 balls, with 16 boundaries a six. He reached his half-century in 29 balls. Pujara also became the fourth Indian batsman after Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, and Mayank Agarwal to score a triple century in first-class cricket, 150-plus score in List A and a T20 century.

Meanwhile, Mumbai’s Shreyas Iyer overtook Rishabh Pant’s 128* and scored 147 runs from 55 balls in the match against Sikkim in Indore, to become the highest T20 run-scorer in India.

In the 58 T20 games he has played, Pujara scored 1096 runs at an average of 25.48 and strike rate of 105.18. In the overall list of highest T20 scores, Shreyas Iyer is tied with Chris Gayle at the fourth position.

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!