Choose your channels

DC's batting collapse gives MI its fifth IPL crown

Wednesday, November 11, 2020 • Tamil Sport News Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Rohit Sharma-led Mumbai Indians (MI) won their fifth IPL crown in Dubai on Tuesday night, beating first-time finalist Delhi Capitals (DC) easily by five wickets. With this win, MI has now won back-to-back titles in 2019 and 2020, thus emulating three-time trophy winner CSK’s feat of winning the titles for two consecutive years in 2010 and 2011. MI has now won the titles five times during the past eight years (2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020).

After winning the toss, DC opted to bat first, hoping to put a huge total on board to challenge Mi's very powerful batting order. It lost Stoinis, last man's 'Man-of-the-match', off the very first ball, Rahane in the third over followed by Dhawan in the fourth over. DC were reeling at 22/3 in 3.3 overs when captain Shreyas Iyer and wicket-keeper Rishab Pant got into the rescue act.

The duo added 96 runs for the 4th wicket in just 11.3 overs. Pant (58 off 38 balls with four 4’s and two 6’s) got out at the wrong time as it placed stress on the new batters who had no time to gauge the nature of the wicket. Shreyas, the other batter to shine for DC, made a 50-ball 65 (with six 4's and two 6's), remained unbeaten but couldn't take DC beyond 156.

Trent Boult picked 3/30 in four overs but surprisingly enough, Bumrah went wicketless. In their reply, MI never took their feet off the gas pedal, keeping the run-rate over 8. Rohit hit a six off Ashwin in the first over itself, signaling MI’s intention to seal the chase early. It razed to 45 in four overs when de Kock fell for 20. Suryakumar Yadav made 19 but sacrificed his wicket for Rohit Sharma who batted beautifully to make a 51-ball 68 with five 4’s and four 6’s. Kieron Pollard and Hardik Pandya fell in quick succession and it was left to Krunal Pandya to hit the winning run in the 19th over. None of DC’s bowlers could make an impact on MI’s batters as they had a less-than par-score to defend.

Soon after MI's fifth IPL trophy-winning effort, many former cricketers named MI as the best-ever T20 team across the leagues in the world.

Match in brief:

DC: 156/7 (20 overs)

MI: 157/5 (18.4 overs)

Man of the Match: Trent Boult

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!