Choose your channels

Kerala State TV awards 2020 announced: No serial 'worthy' of award!

Wednesday, September 1, 2021 • Malayalam Comments
Listen to article
--:-- / --:--
This is a beta feature and we would love to hear your feedback?
Send us your feedback to

Kerala State TV awards 2020 announced: No serial worthy of award!

On Wednesday, Saji Cheriyan, Minister of Culture, announced the winners of Kerala State TV awards 2020. Chakkappazham actress Aswathy Sreekanth bagged the best actress award and actor Sivaji Gurauvayoor was announced the best actor for his performance in the popular serial 'Kadhayariyathe'. For the 5th time consecutively, popular sitcom Marimayam bagged the best comedy program.

Chakkappzham's Sumesh aka Rafi was declared the second-best hero and Shalu Kurian won the second-best actress award for the show 'Aksharathettu'. The best comedian award was bagged by actress Reshmi. Comedian Salim Hassan received a special mention from the jury for his avatars in the same show. Actress Swasika Vijay hosted TV show titled Red Carpet bagged the best show award.

Interestingly, no teleserial managed to impress the jury this year. The jury commented that no TV serials were worthy enough for the recognition. The jury also expressed concern over the negative portrayal of women and children in serials. The jury also decided not to confer a Best Director (teleserial / telefilm) award since “they did not find any brilliant or responsible filmmakers among the entries.”

Follow us on Google News and stay updated with the latest!