Choose your channels

Yagnam Music Review

Yagnam Music Review
Eetharam banner,
Gopichand, Sameera Banerjee, Prakash Raj, Devraj, Dharmavarapu Subramanyam, Narra Venkateswara Rao, Raghu Babu, Rajkumar, Suman Setty, Jhansi , Jahnavi, Baby Nikshipta Rao, Baby Trish, Master Vivek
Ravikumar Chowdary
Pokuri Babu Rao
Mani Sharma
Commercial strains for a cause
IndiaGlitz [Thursday, June 24, 2004 • తెలుగు] Comments

Reputed banner Eetharam Films, known for radical-nationalist films like `Vandemataram' and `Pratighatana' are now making `Yagnam'. Surprisingly, however, they have roped in commercially successful Mani Sharma as the music composer.

Unlike their earlier albums, this one is packed with melodious duets and fast-paced numbers. The only exception is the revolutionary song of Sri Sri,Nenu Saitham.

The album opens with chart-buster Chinnanaati Chelikade sung by S. P. Balasubramaniam and Shreya Ghosal. Then comes Haayiga Amma Vollo, rendered by Gopikapurnima and Vardhini, which sounds more like a lullaby.  This is followed by the softly melodious Chamak Chammakani sung by Sandip and Mallikarjun.

Side B opens with the delightful duet Emchasavo Naa Manasu sung by Charan and Shreya Goshal. Then, after the mandatory repetition of chartbuster Chinnanaati Chelikade,  is repeated, ring out the extremely popular and revolutionary lines of Sri Sri in Nenu Saitham Prapanchaniki, calling for sacrifices for the sake of the nation.

The whole package is rounded of with the racy Thongi Thongi, rendered by Hariharan and Swarnalatha.

The album is notable for its mix that may once have seemed hard to manage in view of the film's intense theme.